Remembering 2012.

Posted: January 2, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

Maybe it’s just me, but if I’m not careful, I will always focus on the unfinished work and/or negative results. The end of a long day where I know I’ve been working my behind off…what do I think about? The one document that I didn’t review and sign. It’s natural. I’ve gotten better at highlighting the things I actually completed, but it takes a lot of work.

About a week ago, I posted this tweet:

It’s really easy to get caught up remembering what didn’t get done.
This year, I’m going to purposefully remember what I did.

So in that vein, I’ve decided to actually make a list of things I did during 2012. I didn’t hit all the goals, but I did some big things (at least in my opinion).

In 2012, I…

  • Went to two Christian conferences this year – ManUP Conference w/ Reach Records and the Catalyst One Day Conference with Andy Stanley and Craig Groeschel
  • Took a major vacation to Mexico
  • Took mini vacations in North Carolina, Virginia Beach, and Atlantic City
  • Traveled for work to Texas, North Carolina, and Missouri
  • Completed my first year as a Sr. Supervising Engineer
  • Went to a foam party (only other time since Freshman year)
  • Donated to HOPE Scholarship, Developing K.I.D.S., and Alpha Nu Omega, Inc. (DC Metro Alumni Chapter Scholarship)
  • Sponsored a young boy in the Philippines
  • Ran for and won a position as the National VP of my Fraternity
  • Completed a Mud Factor 5K Obstacle Course Mud Run
  • Bought a new truck. Gave away my old truck as a gift
  • Ate cactus and alligator
  • Went to my ten year high school reunion
  • Joined the Advisory Board Member of a nonprofit organization
  • Had a personal lunch with my mentor and my company’s CEO
  • Went to The Roots concert on New Year’s Eve
  • Went to two 116 concerts (Lecrae, Trip Lee, KB, Andy Mine, and Derek Minor) and the Misfit Tour concert (Mali Music, Da’ T.R.U.T.H…)

Some of those are directly meeting goals. Some are indicative of pushing myself way outside of my comfort zone. Some are just me letting myself live

In retrospect, 2012 was an awesome year. 2013 has some big shoes to fill.

Leave a Reply

