Lessons Learned Over Christmas break

Posted: December 30, 2011 in Uncategorized

Every year since moving to the DMV, I’ve spent the Christmas holiday back in Detroit. It’s always a great time with family, and it’s one of the rare times in the year where I don’t really have to do much besides show up. Don’t have to drive anywhere. Don’t have to go to work. Just sleep, eat, and hang out with the fam. #Refreshing.

Ok so I learned a few things over the break…Nothing major, but I figured I’d put something on this blog before it molds.

1.     I can be the CEO of the world. However, when I go back to Detroit, I am the baby boy/little brother. This is a good and a bad thing, all rolled into one.

2.     I really dislike Christmas shopping. Moreover, I hate seeing people stress out and go further in debt buying gifts that will be forgotten in a month.

3.     As much as I don’t like it, I realize that buying gifts can be a way to make a lasting memory…especially for the kiddies. Buying gifts isn’t a requirement BUT it is a good move.

4.     I missed the NBA.

5.     The amount of TV I watched over that one-week period confirmed that I made the right decision in getting rid of cable TV. I was GLUED to the TV, watching NBA games, NFL games (I don’t even watch football), marathons, movies, and daytime court shows. Smh.

6.     I am my Dad. The older I get, the more I see it in living color. Scary.

Maybe I’ll go into more detail on each of these later… emphasis on maybe.

Leave a Reply

