The Shack Time

Posted: November 8, 2011 in Uncategorized

One of my friends said that she needed an experience with God like Mack had in “The Shack.” Without giving much of the book away, Mack has this encounter with God that blows him away. Their interaction changed the way he viewed God, the way he viewed himself, and the way he viewed the world. Like…EVERYTHING was turned upside down because of this intimate time he had with God.

Now here is the thing that killed me. When I heard her say that, the thought that exploded in my mind…

…I don’t have the time right now to have a The-Shack encounter.

Convicted like a mug. I don’t ever want to be too busy doing stuff for God that I miss an encounter with Him. I don’t want to…but I KNOW that I’ve fallen in that category many a day. A couple months ago, I got a nice promotion at work. Sr. Supervising Engineer. Leadership role. A lot more of my time and energy. (At some point I’m gonna write about all the extrovert crap I seem to do…) I love the new spot and everything, but in the transition, I neglected to re-evaluate my commitments and my need for room to rest…and I suffered for it. But, lesson learned.

I just talked about making moves to re-establish margin in my life…and for once, I actually followed through. I stepped away from leading my HS Connect Group for a minute. For how long? I don’t know. My hope is to get a better view of everything…and just to create breathing room. We’ll see after that. I know that following and experiencing God often involves doing something. But that ain’t always the case. And the work can’t be to the detriment of the relationship. That negates the “success.”

Comments
  1. Spitfire says:

    This.

  2. JostWrite says:

    Powerful Book. We all feel that way many a times. Choosing daily living vs choosing God.
    I actually wrote a review/reaction to the book when I first read. I should probably post it up someday.

Leave a Reply

