Quiet Time

Posted: October 26, 2011 in Uncategorized

“Quiet Time” is a phrase that’s been pretty popular in the pseudo-young Christian scene. At the core, it’s about taking time to connect with God. For me, that has included some combination of reading some Word, listening to some music, prayer, journaling, etc.

The problem is that all those things, as good as they are…they’re all noise. Half the time, it’s just a routine. It’s me doing something more than it’s me resting in God’s presence. The last couple of weekends, I’ve gotten the most sleep ever. Like of all time. But at the end of it all, I still felt all ways tired. Why? Because I never quieted the noise. I went to sleep with a million things on my mind. I woke up with a million things on my mind. The programs on the laptop never shut down…the lid just closed. #DeathToBattery

Life is sooooo fast paced and full of production-driven experiences. Peace isn’t that. Communion with God isn’t that. Not for me.

Quiet time has literally become the time for quiet.

Moments of silence. Not to mourn a death…but to prevent one.

Comments
  1. Spitfire says:

    Bam. there it is right there. “Not to mourn a death, but to prevent one.” Love it.

Leave a Reply

