Going or (be)coming?

Posted: August 23, 2011 in Uncategorized

**I was reading through my old Xanga blogs, and I came across this quickie from last summer. Figured I’d share it again…it definitely still applies to (my) life.**

There was a phrase that I wrote down while at the ANQinATL Convention.  I’m not sure if one of the leaders said it during their session or if it was something my mind went to after reading something…I just don’t know.  But I do know that it charged me and confirmed some things I already felt.

The statement was this:

Going and doing has to be secondary to BEING and BECOMING.

It really made me check my priorities…again.  If I spent more energy becoming a better man, I would ultimately be more equipped to do better things, consistently.  Going places and doing greatness should be the result of who we are…not the definition. 

I don’t remember where I got it, but I’m trying this: Instead of asking someone “how are you doing?” Ask them “who are you becoming?”

Sounds awkward right?  Maybe even peculiar…

Thoughts?

Comments
  1. Spitfire says:

    Hits home, as I have just made a declaration to God that I want him to use me right here where I am. Keep me in this place until it’s time to go and/or do something else.

    Before I was SO intent on getting out of my current situation. Now I realize I just need to BE.

    Good stuff.

Leave a Reply

