There really is enough time

Posted: July 27, 2011 in Uncategorized

Just like I said, I knew I would be writing another blog about “Quitter” by Jon Acuff

In the book, Acuff made it a point to confront me talked about how we have this feeling that we’re too busy to go after our dream careers. Between work, personal growth, family commitments, service in ministry, volunteering, relationships, friendships…it just doesn’t leave much time to dedicate to dream-pursuit. Not to mention watching MTV Rivals, Criminal Minds, and my weekly dose of Maury…sheesh.

I have always had a tendency to be engulfed in doing stuff. I talked a little bit about it during lent season, where I was fasting from passive lying and defensiveness. I got to a point where I had to make some serious changes because there was no margin in my life. I knew that if I wanted to go in on this thing God had placed in my heart, I HAD to make room.

Jon (he DMed me one day, so it’s kinda like we’re on a first name basis) said something that echoed something that I already knew, but I needed a good reminder on…

“You have the perfect amount of time each day for the things that matter most. The key is spending time on those things.”

So true. There is just enough time to accomplish everything that needs my attention. A few months ago, I would’ve called that a major lie. But it’s true. The question is…what matters the most? Everything isn’t important. To someone else, it IS important. But that doesn’t mean it has to be important to me. If everything is of equal importance, then nothing is important.

Accepting that fact means that some things end up undone. That’s SO difficult for me to say, but it is what it is. Some emails don’t get sent…but the important ones do. Some phone calls don’t get made…but the important ones do. Some invitations and some people have to get the NO, so that the most important things have the chance to get the YES. (#bigrocks c/o @JumaineJones)

This is much easier said than done, but the reality is I owe it to God and I owe it to myself. As much as I’m supposed to be a good steward over my paychecks, I’m also supposed to be a good steward over time, creativity, and dreams. Now, I know I’m not throwing dollar bills away any time soon. So why waste anything else God gives?

Comments
  1. Spitfire says:

    If everything is of equal importance, then nothing is important. YOU STOLE THAT FROM THE INCREDIBLES!!! LOL “When everyone is super, NO one will be!” (c) Syndrome. Disney is going to SUE YOU! lol

    But in all seriousness this is so true!

    and also AMEN!!!!!!

    And WHEN did Acuff DM you??? You’re special now! LOL Keep this going!

    • Spitfire, Disney stole that from ME! I will be telling them “PAY WHAT YOU OWE!” (c) Riley Freeman. And yes, he DMed me at some point in twitterlife. I don’t remember what it was about…clearly not of importance. It might have been “thanks for following” lol.

Leave a Reply

