Practice being excellent

Posted: July 25, 2011 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , ,

I just finished reading “Quitter” by Jon Acuff. This guy has to be one of my favorite people in the world right now.  The book is amazing. You know how I know? I read it in a week. As possibly the slowest reader that actually owns multiple books, that timeline is definitely a sign on how amazing it is.

The book is built off of the premise of “closing the gap between your day job and your dream job.” The big idea is that we have (big) dreams that don’t look anything like our jobs, that actually take up most of our time. I’m not going to give a whole rundown of the book…you should actually read it. Especially if you’ve thought about closing that gap.

I’ve been told that it’s weird that I’m reading this book after I just interviewed for a promotion at my job. It probably is. #YeShrug. One thing that I love about this book is that Acuff stresses the importance of being excellent at your job even if it isn’t your dream. The work you put in there is sort of like a training ground for the future.

“Want to learn how to be dedicated and focused on your dream? Practice being dedicated and focused at work. Want to give you dream job the best shot of success? Learn how to be successful at work.”

My dream career is a mix of mentoring and stepping. My real life job is an electrical engineer/technical writer/project manager. Let’s hypothetically say my dream career is 5 years away. Do I spend the next 5 years being half-assed with everything that doesn’t visibly relate? I’m not sure God would be really happy with that.

I was discussing Jeremiah 29:7 with a good friend of mine recently. It says “And work for the peace and prosperity of the city where I sent you into exile. Pray to the Lord for it, for its welfare will determine your welfare.” Wherever I am, I should do my part to make it shine. The more IT prospers, the more God will prosper ME. I’m expected to be excellent in my work, even if my name isn’t on the letterhead. Ipso facto…

…anything less than my ALL is irresponisible.

I say that in this here blog with all confidence, but that crap is difficult on some days. Blogging about it is way easier than living it. But living it is what we’re called to do.

I feel like I’m going to be talking about this book in another blog…

Comments
  1. Spitfire says:

    YESSSSSSSSS!!!!!!!!!!!! and HECK YEAH it’s hard when your heart is elsewhere. This is a “Love the one you’re with” situation!

    But it will be over soon, and as any track runner will tell you, You NEVER slow down when you see the finish line!

    Good stuff! Keep it coming!

  2. Wow. So how about I just wrapped up a new post on the SAME THING! Not the book though, but the topic in general: http://deandrevidale.com/787

Leave a Reply

