What the Cursed Fig Tree Taught Me

Posted: July 7, 2011 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , ,

Maybe 3 weeks ago, I started reading a chapter of Mark every morning on my way to work. This morning, I was reading Mark 11 and something really encouraged me. So instead of trying to tweet it, I figured I’d do a quick post about it.  And yes, even if you don’t know nothin bout Alger-ba [(c) Beyonce’ Z], you can see I missed a couple of days. Baby steps for consistency…but anyway.

Mark 11:20-21 (NLT) – The next morning as they passed by the fig tree he had cursed, the disciples noticed it had withered from the roots up. Peter remembered what Jesus had said to the tree on the previous day…

This is one of those things I’ve read and heard before, but today something else showed up.

Earlier in the chapter, Jesus comes to this fig tree and curses it after he finds that it doesn’t have any fruit. (I’m not totally clear why He cursed it…if you do, let me know in the comments section!) His curse wasn’t like the things we call curse words today, but his was a pronouncement of judgment. He told the tree that it was done…and then it was.

This is what hit me:
The next morning…it had withered from the roots up.

In a weird way, this statement was a comfort for me. Jesus spoke something that was true – absolutely true, absolutely with power, absolutely done. But it took a day before someone could see the change. It wasn’t until the next day that the disciples saw a dead tree.

Even though I know personal promises spoken to me from God…
Even though I’ve seen God do big things that I can’t explain or understand…
Even though I know that He who began the good work in me is faithful to continue the work until Christ returns

Even though a promise from God was given today, it may take the next morning for it to be seen inside and out.

I’m such a work in progress…especially some character areas that I think should have been fixed by now. But this dying fig tree reminded me that change that goes from the root to the fruit, is a process that just might take time.

And I need that reminder.

Comments
  1. Spitfire says:

    Wooooooooow! Way to take something that usually seen as a negative and turn it into a positive! LOVE this post.
    God’s work is a PROCESS not a PRODUCTION. God’s work WILL show but it isn’t FOR a show. It is meant to sustain and through proper sustenance flourish.

    Thank you so much for this post.

Leave a Reply

