7 letters that made my day

Posted: June 6, 2011 in Uncategorized

A couple of months ago, I bought and watched the documentary “Waiting for Superman.” In short, the film takes a hard look at the public education system in the US. It’s really interesting, especially being a partial product of the Detroit Public School System.

Now, this blog isn’t to debate the quality of schools or even the validity of the documentary. I don’t argue lol. I want to talk about something that came out of my watching that film, though. These

 
That’s seven letters from Oscar De La Hoya Animo Charter High School students, in Los Angeles, CA. Have I met them? No. Have they impacted my life? Absolutely.

I made a donation to Mrs. R’s classroom project to get some books for her students. Her goal was to get 24 books that would help her students improve their reading levels through books that they would actually enjoy reading. Now, I’ve said it before…I used to HATE reading…and I think a lot of that was rooted in books that I just didn’t care about. So this project hit home a little bit.

I don’t remember how much I donated, but these letters told me that I donated just the right amount. I wasn’t the only donor, but together we made a difference. I’m reading things like…

“You have benefited the classroom in a big way because now we enjoy reading…”
AND
“My teacher is happy because she has more books to give us.”

It’s no guarantee that the books we made available will make doctors, lawyers, and engineers out of the whole class, but for somebody…that’s now a possibility. I used to paralyze myself at the thought of not being able to “fix-it.” Like, if the need was bigger than what I could do, then I would do nothing.  But I’m learning…as a Christian, I do what I can, and we trust God to do well beyond our capabilities.

I’ve talked a little bit about Servolution by Dino Rizzo before, and he said this: “We can’t help everybody, and we can’t do everything, but we can do something.”

So my lesson learned: The needs may be overwhelming, but I can always DO SOMETHING.

If anyone has material possessions and sees a brother or sister in need but has no pity on them, how can the love of God be in that person? Dear children, let us not love with words or speech but with actions and in truth. (1 John 3:17-18)

Comments
  1. Spitfire says:

    oh. so i’m gonna have to start subscribing to your blog again? sigh. LOL good stuff here. very true.

    We can’t let ourselves be overwhelmed and paralyzed by the great need of others. Do what you can. If each of us does that, before we know it the need it met.

    Good Post.

  2. Kathy Richardson says:

    I wish you could be here to see how excited the students are to have these exciting and inspiring new books! The life impact you mentioned goes both ways. After enjoying the books for months, the students were very pleased to have the chance to write you thank you letters, and they were delighted to see this post about the letters. This is such a wonderful all-around experience. Thanks again, Eric!

Leave a Reply

