Day 15…appreciating this journey

Posted: March 24, 2011 in Uncategorized

I just finished a fast this week. I wont go into a bunch of details, but I will say that a part of the fast included my giving up of coffee and Pepsi. These two glorious beverages are a very regular part of my day. A cup of coffee in the morning when I get to work, and Pepsi…well Pepsi at all other times of the day lol.

Now, I’ll be honest. I drank a Pepsi in the middle of the fast. I think I was Pissed about something…and that pop was my fix. #dontjudgeme

That’s not really the point of this post, though.

The thing that made me go “hmmm” was the ease I had going right back to the coffee and pop today.

Got to work, rinsed out my Howard University Prayer Breakfast mug, and filled it up with coffee. Even got a second cup. When the afternoon came, I got my $1.25 together and bought a Pepsi. Like clockwork.

When I stopped and thought about it, it made me appreciate this desire to focus on passive lying and defensiveness during the Lent season. My goal isn’t just to give up something to have a temporary impact on my connection with Christ, but it’s to work toward a life change that transforms my way thinking which ultimately allows Christ to mold me even more.

And really, that’s why we fast. We give up something natural to access something spiritual. There’s nothing more spiritual and beneficial than the likeness of Christ.

Comments
  1. Christina says:

    this was good man. really puts fasting in perspective. as someone who loathes all discipline lol.

  2. […] I said in this Day 15 post, one of the great things about focusing on those issues was that they were potential life changes […]

Leave a Reply

