Day 14…grace for what’s necessary

Posted: March 23, 2011 in Uncategorized

On the regular, my to-do list is longer than my day. My desk (and my life) is usually full…and it’s been this way since college (engineering student AND active on campus). There was a point when I was hell-bent on making that statement untrue. Like, I really wanted to find a way to have less on the list so there would be gaping holes of nothing-to-do in my days.

It started when I saw this series on maintaining margin at my church. The main point was that without margin, we neglect the important things in life. A year and a half later, and that message still sticks with me…and you’ll hear me reference it once a month lol. I’ve learned that margin isn’t just about making holes in your schedule. It’s about creating space to focus on the things that matter.

Since then, I’ve made some major changes that (I think) keep me more in line with purpose and not just a bunch of things I like to do. My to-do list looks exactly the same. PACKED. To me, it feels just right.

I told one of my friends that I have just enough to do what I’m supposed to do. When I get off track, THEN I feel tired and like the energy is gooooone. It’s as if I have the push from God to finish the stuff that’s from Him. I’ve been saying it, but I heard these lyrics yesterday and it really confirmed what I knew…

In the chaos, in confusion
I know, You’re sovereign still
In the moment of my weakness
You give me grace to do Your will
– Brooke Fraser, HillsongUnited

The cool thing is that “the stuff from Him” isn’t always deep stuff. It includes down-time and chill moments. Ahhh.

Comments
  1. Chris says:

    right there with you man, keep inspiring

  2. Spitfire says:

    Leetttttttsssss Chiiilllll! Let’s settle downnnnn! LOL

  3. […] have always had a tendency to be engulfed in doing stuff. I talked a little bit about it during lent season, where I was fasting from passive lying and defensiveness. I got to a point where I had to make […]

Leave a Reply

