Day 11…can’t do anything without accountability

Posted: March 20, 2011 in Uncategorized

I came to the realization today that it is dang near impossible for me to do anything without some form of accountability. Well, I mean something that isn’t already a habit. I can make it to work everyday without accountability because I’ve been doing it for years. The things that I’ve wired myself to do…I got that on my own. Now, the things that aren’t habitual yet…I swear I LOSE without someone pushing me to stay on the path.

This realization brings up all types of feelings…and not necessarily good ones.

It’s a crushing thing to admit that I need help doing anything new. I can start plenty of new things, but I can’t keep them up for too long. I’ve heard my pastor say that it takes 21 days to break an old habit or form a new one. That number might as well be 21,000 because I rarely make it.

Another challenge with this realization is that I really have a love/hate relationship with accountability.

I love what it does and helps me to accomplish. I hate that it means I have to admit that I’m slumming in some areas.

I love the relationships that it build with brothers and sisters. I hate that someone is questioning me.

I love the way it confirms that someone else is willing to invest their time and energy in me and my goals/dreams/future. I hate that I’m constantly being reminded of the bar that God has set for me/ I’ve set for myself.

So as much as I hate it, I’m learning to love it more. And love always wins.

Comments
  1. Spitfire says:

    YAY! and i would also love that EXTRA post for the Missing day!

  2. PDNumba says:

    I love that someone care, I hate that someone is kinda tellin me what I need?need not to do.

    I love you, dude.

  3. MAINFRAM3 says:

    NICE! THAT 21 DAY THING DOES SEEM MAD HARD THO LOL.

Leave a Reply

