Day 9…my defense is strong

Posted: March 18, 2011 in Uncategorized

After I finished yesterday’s post, my mind kept moving in the direction of that final statement. I said that I wonder if people have spared me the truth for the sake of my feelings. The thing that I had to also consider was this…

I wonder how many people have run into my defensiveness even when they do tell me the best.

I’ve written a lot about my passive lying, but I haven’t said much about defensiveness. It’s just as much a hindrance to my fellowship with God and becoming more Christ-like. I have been known to operate with a pretty strong wall that requires endurance to really get through.

Now, this is a great trait for like an FBI agent or some military personnel…but I’m not in that line of work. Those barriers are not necessary. Are they protective? Yes. Do they help to ensure safety? Yes. Do they limit quality relationships from forming? Absolutely. And that’s the problem.

How much growth have I forfeited because I cut people off when I started to get uncomfortable?

Comments
  1. Spitfire says:

    And who suffers more? You on the inside looking out? Or the others on the outside looking in?
    Your defensiveness may protect you, but it’s leaving someone else uncovered.

  2. Spitfire says:

    also, i noticed that your blog says Still Eazy…like sunday afternoon. Isn’t that supposed to be Sunday MORNING? Or were you too lazy to get up that early?? LOL

Leave a Reply

