Day 6…missed a day

Posted: March 15, 2011 in Uncategorized

Yesterday was Day 5, and I didn’t blog. Why? Because I didn’t feel like it. Because I didn’t make the time for it. Having to type that out really sucks. I wish I could say that I didn’t have anything to talk about, that Jesus emailed me and told me to be still, or one of my thumbs fell off or something…something real dramatic…and honest. But, nope. The truth is this: I made the choice to not do what I told myself I would do.

Unfortunately, this is a habit of mine that I have to change. Friends that know me can attest to my regular desire to grow in discipline. It’s a weak spot that leads to bad things being done and great things remaining UNdone.

About a year and a half ago (yep, I was still struggling with discipline then too), this scripture came up in a check-in with my mentor: “He who ignores discipline despises himself, but whoever heeds correction gains understanding.” – Proverbs 15:32 (NIV).

By fighting against discipline, I’m basically saying that I hate myself. Wooowwww! Now, I realize that the verse may be speaking more about guidance and chastisement, but I think it fits my situation too. Discipline doesn’t have to come AFTER a fall. It can come BEFORE a fall and still be effective correction…and that’s probably where I need it most.

So, now that I’ve said that…I open myself up to “digital stalking” lol

Comments
  1. Spitfire says:

    I expect a “Day 6.2” post to make up for the missed five. Make that happ’n Cap’n!

Leave a Reply

